Author Dee Dee M. Scott Interview on Miss Millennia Magazine!

01/29/2013 01:26

 

 

Written by Alexandra Simon

I’d like to introduce Dee Dee Scott — playwright, author, and entrepreneur. I learned about the talents of Dee Dee earlier this month, and was very impressed with what she has accomplished in her writing career. Read her interview below:

What inspired you to become a playwright and author?

Writing is what I have always done since I was six. I decided to become a playwright because I knew the characters that I had written needed to come alive on stage. I wanted the stories to be visual. When a fan wrote me a letter saying how much the book had touched her, it really pushed me to move forward with the production, My Husband’s Woman.

What are you most proud of?

I am most proud that I didn’t let anything stop me or stand in my way. I found a way to make it work. No matter how many rejections I faced, I didn’t give up. I am also proud that, through my companies’, actors and writers who may have never been seen nor had the opportunities to showcase their talents, get to do so.

Who has impacted you the most in your career and how?

Jehovah God and Jesus! They ae number one and I can do all things through Jesus!

What is your personal mission statement?

The limit is not the sky; the limit is higher than the sky. I firmly believe that you should not limit or put yourself in a box, and that you should not let anyone else do it either. If you want something and have the drive, you should go after it period.

What would be your inspirational message to young women who are struggling to fulfill their dream?

Don’t give up. People will criticize you and come against you. Let your positive energy carry you on, and use the negative energy to motivate you. Even a battery has a negative and positive post. It takes both to make a car run. Focus on improving yourself and being the best person that you can be. Write down your goals and take steps everyday to reach them. Study and perfect your talent. Be patient. Remember that nothing happens overnight and if it does, it lacks foundation. You also have to follow your own path and stay focused on it. Just because something didn’t work for someone else doesn’t mean it won’t work for you. And if you do happen to fall, don’t stay there. Dust yourself off and get back up.

How would you handle sensitive writers who question every edit you make?

I would tell them that the only way to be the best is to have someone honest critique their work and help them to make it as strong as possible. If they are unwilling to change things, they may never reach the level of success they dream of.

Besides creative writing, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I love spending time with my family. We are very close and they are my biggest support system. I love the word of Jehovah God and my Lord and savior Jesus Christ too. I am all about being beautiful from the inside out. If my spiritual man is out of order, so am I.

What advice would you give to women interested in becoming a self-published author and entrepreneur?

Follow your dreams. There will be people who will tell you that what you have is not good enough. They will tell you that what you want to do can’t be done, or that you need to stick to what you’re doing. They may tell you the time is not right for what you want to introduce. But if you have a talent, it will override everything. I would also tell them to never stop studying. Get as much information as you can on self-publishing or the field that you want to be in. Become an expert.

What do you love most about your profession?

The creative freedom to do what I love and being able to help others who are talented achieve their dreams. I know how it feels to have a talent and be rejected. If someone comes to me and have the talent and the drive, I do my best to help them. I firmly believe that you should not be stingy with your knowledge, or hold back someone who is hungry and destined to succeed. If you do, you will only block yourself.

Where do you see yourself five years from now in your career?

I see my films, stage plays and publishing company reaching a broader audience. I see myself having my own television network and helping a lot of people make their dreams come to past.

Anything else you would like us to add?

I just want to let everyone know, that if I can do it, so can they. Believe in yourself and stay focused on your goals. Never place yourself in a box and don’t allow anyone else to do it either.

You can buy Dee Dee’s book My Husband’s Woman here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

. You can read new posts on this blog via the RSS feed.